Experimental Research in Political Science Awards

Joshua Tucker Dec 9 '10

The American Political Science Association’s newest section, the Organized Section on Experimental Research, is pleased to announce three new awards that will be presented annually at APSA starting in 2011. Information regarding nominations is provided below:

**APSA Organized Section on Experimental Research Best Paper Award**

We are now soliciting nominations for the Award for Best Paper Presented at the Previous Year’s APSA featuring experimental analyses. As we did not have an organized section this year, the criteria for being nominated is simply that (a) the paper was presented at APSA and (b) that it features experimental analysis. Chairs and discussants are especially encouraged to nominate papers, but nominations from anyone who saw an interesting paper (as well as self-nominations) are welcome as well.

Please email a copy of the paper in .pdf format along with a brief sentence or two about why you are nominating the paper to all four members of the committee at the following email addresses: Joshua Tucker, Chair (joshua.tucker_at_nyu.edu); Rose McDermott (Rose_McDermott_at_brown.edu); James Gibson (jgibson_at_wustl.edu) and Eric Dickson (eric.dickson_at_nyu.edu). Please include “APSA Experiments Best Paper Nomination” in the subject heading of your email. Nominations will be accepted through May 1, 2011.

**APSA Organized Section on Experimental Research Best Dissertation Award**

The APSA Organized Section on Experimental Research invites nominations for the 2010 Best Dissertation prize (selection committee: Sean Gailmard (chair), Bethany Albertson, Shana Gadarian, Nick Valentino). Eligible nominees will have completed a dissertation in the 2010 calendar year that utilizes experimental methods on substantive political science research, or makes a fundamental contribution to experimental methods. Nominations should come from faculty members but they need not be on the student’s dissertation committee. Nominations are due April 1, 2011 and should be emailed to Sean Gailmard, gailmard_at_berkeley.edu.

**APSA Organized Section on Experimental Research Best Book Award**

For the best book published in 2010 that either uses or is about experimental research methods in the study of politics. A copy of the book should be sent to each member of the selection committee at the addresses provided below no later than April 1, 2011.

Ted Brader (chair)
Center for Political Studies
University of Michigan
426 Thompson Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48106

Macartan Humphreys
Department of Political Science
Columbia University
728 IAB Building
420 West 118th Street
New York, NY 10027

Susan Hyde
Department of Political Science
Yale University
PO Box 208301
77 Prospect Street, C120
New Haven, CT 06520-8301

Ismail White
Department of Political Science
The Ohio State University
2018 Derby Hall
154 North Oval Mall
Columbus, OH 43210