The Monkey Cage Named “Blog of the Year”

As Henry alluded to, and Seth Masket already noticed, The Monkey Cage was named “Blog of the Year” by The Week at an a dinner tonight hosted by David Gregory of NBCHere is a write-up of the award.  Previous winners of the award—listed here—include Ezra Klein, Joshua Marshall, Ed Morrissey, and Nate Silver.  The nominees for this year are here.

I’ll repeat a bit of what I said in my remarks tonight. It was a complete surprise to receive this award, especially given that any visibility we have is largely due to, well, links from the other nominees, including Tyler Cowen, Andrew Sullivan, and Matt Yglesias.   So we are very grateful to them, to The Week, to the other blogs and publications that have linked to us, and especially to the members of the committee that awarded the prize: Steve Benen, Ezra Klein, Megan McArdle, and James Graff of The Week.  We are also grateful to Lee and to the many political scientists who have sent us tips or served as guest-bloggers over the past 3+ years.

As we stated in our inaugural post, the mission of The Monkey Cage is to discuss political science research and to use that research to help understand of current events and issues.  I hope that we’ve increased the supply of political science research in the public domain and made it more comprehensible to the non-specialist.  I also hope that we’ve addressed questions of broad interest and often questions in that day’s headlines. We’ll try to keep it up.

Thanks again to The Week for this lovely and unexpected honor.

11 Responses to The Monkey Cage Named “Blog of the Year”

  1. Sebastian May 12, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    that’s wonderful news – congratulations. You’ve created a really great mix of topics here – yes, you don’t have the exposure (yet) of some other blogs, but the Monkey Cage adds something very unique to the conversation.

  2. Bravo May 12, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    It is wonderful to see The Monkey Cage get this recognition (not to mention distinction). You all do a great service by reminding those deep in the weeds not to forget the bigger forest. Congratulations to you all, and an extra one for Lee.

  3. Chris Hanretty May 12, 2011 at 7:32 am #


  4. Michael Allen May 12, 2011 at 1:02 pm #


  5. Dan Nexon May 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Congratulations! Well deserved.

  6. Richard Bridger May 12, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Congratulations. As an ex pol-sci student (who Bravo would regard as ‘in the forest) I’ve loved the way TMC has enabled me to keep up to speed on the area in my spare time. Accolade well deserved.

  7. Mike Allison May 12, 2011 at 4:24 pm #


  8. bandit May 12, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    Congrats on your award.

  9. Harvey Feigenbaum May 12, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Bravo, guys!

  10. Charli Carpenter May 12, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    The best evidence yet that political science is in fact – or at least can be made to be – policy-relevant. Kudos!!

  11. Eric L. May 13, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Cute, too: